The art of polypharmacy

Over the last few days I’ve learnt the hard way about the importance of a concept called polypharmacy. This is a relatively new one on me but is the science of treating one set of side effects with another drug in the hope that you can find an equilibrium (ideally with no side effects but I don’t think this is easy!).

This last week has been made doubly harder by getting a cold (it was inevitable) in the same week as treatment. This means my IVs this week have hit like a sledgehammer and I spent all day Friday and most of Sunday in bed. Partly caused by my over enthusiasm to get out on the bike perhaps?? NO comment.

Whilst we were on the ward (the team were all on their usual form and it was good to see everyone) we ran through the current drugs list and it was suggested I drop the Omeprazole which is an anti sickness / stomach protecting drug which was meant to counter the Dex. Given I’m not currently on Dex, we all thought this would be sensible.

By Thursday morning I was retching really badly and it took another 24 hours to realise that it was the lack of Omeprazole, unfortunately by this time I was not eating and was sick for the first time since this all kicked off – frightening experience. Taking one has calmed the symptoms and we can only assume that it is one of the other drugs causing inflammation / nausea. Polypharmacy at work.

There are a load of other interactions that you realise you need in this ongoing challenge beyond the headline treatment drugs. Blood thinners to counter the chemo (which thickens – not good with a DVT on board), antibiotics to counter the rash caused by the immunotherapy (and steroid cream), anti-inflammatories to keep the liver in check whilst the PAC-Men do their work band the Magnesium to counter the fact that the treatment causes you to lose that in double quick time. The list is seemingly endless. I admire the team and the pharmacists for keeping track. I have the easy job, ticking them off each day. I trust they have a spreadsheet for this little lot! (I would – but I love a spreadsheet).

I just hope this cold passes as it is exhausting fighting two things at once.

TTFN

M

1 comment
  1. alunrichardson said:

    Are you managing to draw and paint through your treatment…it would make an interesting book. X

Leave a comment